menu

Language Centre

Language Centre Staff menu

People

Catalina Gonzalez Arranz

Programme Administrator
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 (0)20 7882 2842
c.gonzalez@qmul.ac.uk

Charlotte Assimakopoulos

Associate Lecturer - ELSS
Room : Bancroft FB129
07477943613
c.assimakopoulos@qmul.ac.uk

Martin Barge

Multimedia Language Resource Centre Manager
Room : Bancroft Building, 1.36b
+44 (0)20 7882 8055
m.i.barge@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Multimedia materials, language learning technologies, communication technologies, distance learning.

Cathy Barnett

Teaching Fellow in EAP
Room : 1.29
c.barnett@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : EAP, teaching academic vocabulary, oral communication skills, sociolinguistics

Bill Batziakas

Associate Lecturer in Applied Linguistics and English Language Education
Room : 1.30, Bancroft Building, Mile End Campus
+44 (0)20 7882 2840
v.batziakas@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : English as a Lingua Franca (ELF), ELT methodology, SLA theories, ESP, EAP, academic writing, testing, curriculum design, materials development, intercultural communication, communicative competence, translanguaging, superdiversity, linguistic/semiotic landscapes (also see next tab ‘Publications’ for my respective research output).

Mark Bell

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : Bancroft Building 129
+44 (0)20 7882 2759
mark.bell@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Materials development

James Crichton Bell

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : BB 1.29
j.c.bell@qmul.ac.uk

Sharon Bernor

Programme Administrator (Postgraduate)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 20 7882 8332
s.j.bernor@qmul.ac.uk

Jennefer Brown

Associate Lecturer
Room : BB1.29
jenny.brown@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Materials development

Caroline Cheshire

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : FB129
c.cheshire@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Critical Discourse Analysis, Corpus Linguistics, language and identity

Noelia Diaz-Vicedo

Teaching Fellow (Spanish)
Room : Bancroft Building 136
+44 (0)20 7882 2843
n.diaz-vicedo@qmul.ac.uk

Edward Donovan

Administrator, Foundation Programmes
Room : Bancroft Building 124
+44 (0)20 7882 2829
e.donovan@qmul.ac.uk

Martyn Ellis

Teaching Fellow (Spanish)
Room : Bancroft Building 136
+44 (0)20 7882 2843
martyn.ellis@qmul.ac.uk

Ian Ericson

External Liaison Manager
Room : F.B. 1.24
ext. 8137
i.ericson@qmul.ac.uk

Jill Evans

Head of Administration
Room : Arts One 1.03
+44 (0)20 7882 8300
j.k.evans@qmul.ac.uk

Weronika Fernando

Teaching Fellow
Room : Bancroft Building 1.30
+44 (0)20 7882 2840
w.fernando@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Spoken and written discourse analysis, academic and professional literacies, multilingual writing practices, bilingualism and first/second language acquisition, internationalisation of higher education, doctoral education

Florian Fischer

Teaching Fellow (German)
Room : Bancroft Building 136
+44 (0)20 7882 2843
f.fischer@qmul.ac.uk

Philip France

Teaching Fellow (French)
Room : Bancroft Building 1.36
+44 (0)20 7882 2843
p.france@qmul.ac.uk

Spela Gruden

Programme Administrator (In-Sessional and Pre-Sessional Programmes)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 (0)20 7882 2827
s.gruden@qmul.ac.uk

Deborah Hamer-Acquaah

Lecturer in Business, Management and Marketing
Room : 1.30
d.hamer-acquaah@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Marketing, Leadership, Strategy and Entrepreneurship

Alan Hart

Insessional Programme Convenor and Module Convenor for SEFP
Room : Bancroft Building 136
+44 (0)20 7882 2830
a.g.hart@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Historical Linguistics, Endangered Languages

Mark Heffernan

Associate Lecturer - ELSS
Room : Bancroft FB - 1.30
m.heffernan@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Materials Development, with a focus on: how single texts can form the basis for lessons, Lexical teaching and the use of authentic materials

Heather Heiner

Exams and Assessment Officer (Postgraduate & Foundation Programmes)
Room : Bancroft 124
+44 20 7882 6640
h.heiner@qmul.ac.uk

Debra Hills

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : Bancroft Building 130
+44 (0)20 7882 2840
d.hills@qmul.ac.uk

Mark Holloway

Foundation Programme Convenor
Room : Bancroft Building 1.36
+44 (0)20 7882 2836
m.holloway@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Reading to Write, ESAP, Technology and Language Learning

Elmina Homapour

Lecturer and Module leader in Pure Mathematics for Economics, Statistics for Economics and Accounting for Business Decision
Room : Bancroft Building 130
+44 (0)20 7882 2840
e.homapour@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Quantitative Methods, Econometrics, Applied Economics focusing on panel data and time series data, and Developments in Economics Education.

Ercan Sinan Hüseyin

Associate Lecturer
Room : Language Centre, 1.29
+44 (0)20 7882 2759
e.huseyin@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Second language acquisition | Language transfer/Cross-linguistic influence | EAP

Will Hutton

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : Bancroft Building 130
+44 (0)20 7882 2840
w.e.hutton@qmul.ac.uk

Philippa Kennedy

Film Studies Lecturer
Room : Bancroft Building 236
p.m.kennedy@qmul.ac.uk

Tom Kessel

Teaching Fellow
Room : Bancroft 1.29
t.kessel@qmul.ac.uk

Michele King

Associate Lecturer
Room : Bancroft 1.29
michele.king@qmul.ac.uk

Nelya Koteyko

Reader in Applied Linguistics
Room : 2.36, Francis Bancroft
n.koteyko@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Media discourse, digital literacies and identities, health communication, critical metaphor analysis, corpus assisted discourse analysis

Peter Latham

ELSS/ISP/English Literature Module Convenor (IFP)
Room : Bancroft Building 236
+44 (0)20 7882 2839
p.latham@qmul.ac.uk

Nicholas Lloyd

Law Module Convenor (ELSS Insessional)
Room : Bancroft Building 129
+44 (0)20 7882 2759
n.h.lloyd@qmul.ac.uk

Agnieszka Lyons

Lecturer in Applied Linguistics
Room : 2.36, Francis Bancroft
a.lyons@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Discursive construction of identity and physicality, electronically mediated communication, multimodal discourse analysis, mediated discourse analysis, researcher reflexivity, ethics in social media research

Sarah Mak

Teaching Fellow of International Relations and Politics
Room : Bancroft 1.36
s.mak@qmul.ac.uk

Ali Al Maleki

Teaching Fellow (Arabic)
Room : Bancroft Building 136
+44 (0)20 7882 2843
a.almaleki@qmul.ac.uk

Chris Mansfield

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : Bancroft Building 129
+44 (0)20 7882 2759
c.mansfield@qmul.ac.uk

Rosa Martin

Coordinator Of Language Learning
Room : Bancroft Building 131
+44 (0)20 7882 2841
r.m.martin@qmul.ac.uk

Rupert Mason

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : Bancroft Building 130
r.mason@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Jack McGowan

IFP History Module Convenor
c.j.mcgowan@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Post-1945 British political and cultural history, particularly during the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s

Bethany Miall

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : Bancroft Building 130
b.miall@qmul.ac.uk

Catherine Mitsaki

Teaching Fellow
Room : Bancroft Building 1.29
+44 (0)20 7882 2759
c.mitsaki@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Social constructions of reality, communities of practice, construction of identities and performativity, speech analysis, disfluency patterns in casual and clear speech

Hiroko Mori

Teaching Fellow - LL
Room : Bancroft Building 136
+44 (0)20 7882 2843
h.mori@qmul.ac.uk

Mary Obemeasor

School Resources Manager
Room : Bancroft Building FB1.20A
020 7882 2678
m.obemeasor@qmul.ac.uk

Simon Pate

Coordinator of Foundation Programmes
Room : Bancroft Building 128
+44 (0)20 7882 2837
s.m.pate@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Genre and narrative studies, Japanese cinema, Hollywood, hybrid cinema, film history

Falco Pfalzgraf

Senior Lecturer in German Linguistics
Room : Francis Bancroft Building 2.35
+44 (0)20 7882 8321
f.pfalzgraf@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Linguistic purism, the influence of English on German (Fremdwörter / Anglizismen / ‘Denglisch’), discourses of foreignness in school books, the relationships between politics language and culture, text book analysis.

Matt Potter

Teaching academic literacy within the disciplines - CCLS & SPIR
Room : Bancroft Building 129
+44 (0)20 7882 2759
m.potter@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Focus on discipline-specific student writing and developing academic literacy particularly in Law and Politics

Kathryn Richardson

Chair/Director Of The Language Centre, and Director of The Confucius Institute
Room : Bancroft Building 125
+44 (0)20 7882 2835
kathryn.richardson@qmul.ac.uk

Julian Ridler

Associate Lecturer
Room : Bancroft 1.29
j.ridler@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Academic Writing, English Language Assessment

Julia Rollitt

Programme Administrator (Undergraduate)
Room : Arts One, room 1.08
+44 20 7882 8331
j.m.rollitt@qmul.ac.uk

Mira Shapur

Teaching Fellow
Room : Bancroft Building 1.30
+44 (0)20 7882 2759
m.shapur@qmul.ac.uk

Saima Sherazi

Coordinator of ELSS Sessional Programmes
Room : Francis Bancroft Building FB1.26
+44 (0)20 7882 2832
s.n.sherazi@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Computer Assisted Language Learning (CALL);Evaluation of multimedia learning; Writing in the Disciplines

Rosine Smyrl

Student Experience Manager
Room : ArtsOne 103a
+44 (0)20 7882 2825
r.smyrl@qmul.ac.uk

Stella Smyth

Teaching Fellow
Room : Bancroft Building FB1.29
s.smyth@qmul.ac.uk

Lisa Stubbings

Programme Administrator (Undergraduate)
Room : Arts One 1.08
+44 20 7882 8314
l.stubbings@qmul.ac.uk

James Taylor

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : Bancroft Building 129
+44 (0)20 7882 2759
j.taylor@qmul.ac.uk

William Tweddle

Presessional Programme Convenor
Room : Bancroft Building 136
+44 (0)20 7882 6626
w.tweddle@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Embedding technology in pedagogic practice

Sherin White

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : Bancroft Building 130
+44 (0)20 7882 2840
s.j.white@qmul.ac.uk

Mary Wickham

Teaching Assistant
Room : Bancroft FB1.30
m.m.wickham@qmul.ac.uk

Andrew Wright

Teaching Fellow - ELSS
Room : Bancroft Building 130
+44 (0)20 7882 2840
a.wright@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Affective engagement in materials development; Genre-based approach to academic writing, Feedforward approach to feedback, CALL.

Has Yate

QMplus and web-content administration and strategy
+44 20 7882 8697
h.yate@qmul.ac.uk

Return to top